Four Sicilian episodes after the 'Novelle per un anno', in which Nobel Prize winner Luigi Pirandello wrote down earthy and extraordinary stories that his governess once told him. The Vienna Film Museum writes: "What remains incessantly perceptible in these tragic, lyrical and grotesque episodes about painful mothers, moon-addicted farmers, rebellious shepherds, fools and shawls is the powerful, sweeping lust for narration, the infatuation with the glare of day and night, the passion for sensuous, pasty pictures and the love for the country and its creatures. In the fifth episode, which talks abou Pirandello himself, the film comes to life. A journey into childhood. A down-fall over the white, wonderful sand cliffs of Lipari to the sea, which is drunken blue and green: a moment of happiness, a lust that does not want to end".

Original Title Kaos
German Title Kaos - Sizilianische Erzählungen
French Title Kaos, contes siciliens
Other Titles Kaos
Directed by Paolo & Vittorio Taviani
Country Italy
Available Formats DCP
Screenplay Paolo & Vittorio Taviani nach Pirandello
Runtime 188 Min.
Language Italienisch/d + f

Texts as well as any visual and audio material on the website of the trigon-film foundation are intended for reporting on the respective film or the promotion of the theatrical release. The material is available free of charge only for reporting on the respective film or its promotion. Any other usage is forbidden through copyright and has to be discussed with trigon-film. Passing on the material to a third party in return for payment or for free is strictly prohibited. The copyright reference © is mandatory. By using our material you accept our copyright regulations!


  • Paolo & Vittorio Taviani - Box DVD

    Paolo & Vittorio Taviani
    CHF 59.90 / EUR 55.60

    Order now