DVD Edition Filmmuseum

From Morning till Midnight - Von morgens bis mitternachts

CHF 23.00 / EUR 21.00

Georg Kaiser decribes in his Expressionist theater play the attempt of a bank cashier to escape his middle class daily life. Director Karlheinz Martin's adaptation transfers Kaiser's play into an Expressionist film of radical stylization. The German film industry was so irritated by the result that the film never found a distribution and was never shown in German cinemas. The only existing print of this classic survived in Japan where the film received a cinema release and was preserved by the National Film Center. The Munich Filmmuseum restored the film and added two scores transferring the visual avantgarde concept of the film into a musical structure: An improvised performance for three percussionists by the SchlagEnsemble H/F/M and a modern score for seven musicians composed and condacted by Yati Durant.

Von morgens bis mitternachts (From Morning Till Midnight), directed by Karlheinz Martin, Germany 1920 (73 min.)
Improvised score by SchlagEnsemble H/F/M | New ensemble music composed and conducted by Yati Durant
Percussion Art auf den Internationalen Stummfilmtagen Bonn 2008 (8 min.)
Booklet with essays by Fritz Göttler, Inge Degenharddt and Jürgen Kasten

Edition Filmmuseum 55
Language Silent film with german intertitles Subtitles english, français, español
Screen 1:1.33 - 4/3 PAL Sound Music score DD 2.0 (stereo) FSK 14+ Region code All regions 

Popular combinations

Stay connected

Subscribe now for the trigon-film newsletter and stay up to date on new dvd releases. For our German or French newsletter with news on all cinema, vod and dvd releases, please change to the respective site and sign up there.



trigon-film is a foundation with outstanding films from Africa, Asia, Latin America and Eastern Europe, pursuing the aim to dismantle cultural barriers and prejudices. Since its foundation in 1988, trigon has distributed more than 500 titles to Swiss cinema houses, on DVD and in its online cinema. Most of these titles remain in the trigon collection so that the access to this visual legacy is maintained. Learn more